View the elected officials of the Boards and Commissions responsible for implementing the vision of AOCMF
AOCMF Organizational Chart AOCMF Governance Structure 2017

The AOCMF International Board is responsible for overseeing and coordinating the strategy, and all the functions and activities, of the AOCMF Clinical Division globally.

On a regional level, the five Regional Boards (Asia Pacific, Europe and Southern Africa, Middle East and Northern Africa, Latin America, and North America) are responsible for overseeing and planning the full range of activities in the field of education. Moreover, they provide regional input to the respective commissions for community development and research.

The three AOCMF Commissions are responsible for establishing standards, coordinating and leveraging ideas, and ensuring best practice transfer between the regions in the fields of research and development, community development, and the TK System. The boards and commissions are composed of elected representatives and comply with the AO Foundation’s Code of Ethics and Shared Values.


For a complete overview of roles within the AOCMF, click here

Regional Boards

Improving patient care across the globe

  • AOCMF Europe and Southern Africa Board
    AOCMF Europe Region

    Daniel Danielsson, SE

    Board Members:
    Isabelle Barthelemy, FR
    Ignacio Ismael Garcia Recuero, ES
    Stefano Fusetti, IT
    Max Heiland, DE
    Lynne Fryer, UK
    Andrew Carton, UK (Community Development)
    Francesco Biroli, IT (Global Neuro)

  • AOCMF Asia Pacific Board
    AOCMF Asia Pacific Region
    Francis Roasa, PH

    Board Members:
    Ee Cherk Cheong, SG
    Tong Ji, CI
    Byung-il Lee, KR
    Han-Tsung Liao
    Jiro Maegawa, JP
    Ferdinand Pamintuan, PH
    Mirta Reksodiputro, ID
    Chumpot Itthichaisri, TH
    Gopal Krishnan Kulandaswamy, IN
    Mike Leung, HK
    Simon Lou, NZ
    Alf Nastri, NZ
    Xin Peng, CN
    Thai- Er Wong, US
  • AOCMF Latin America Board
    AOCMF Latin America Region

    Fernando Briceño, CO

    Board Members:
    Ricardo de Holanda Vasconcellos, BR
    Jose Gregorio Melillo, VE
    Gerardo Fernández Sobrino, MX
    Marcelo Figari, AR
    Eduardo Mazaro, AR
    Rodrigo Hernandez, CL

  • AOCMF Middle East and Northern Africa Board
    AOCMF Middle East Region

    Bader Alhashmi, AE

    Board Members:
    Ali Adouani, TN
    Amir Elbarbary, EG
    Ata Garajei, IR
    Fadi Zibdeh, JO
    Hamed Al-Bargi, SA
    Irfan Shah, PK
    Manjunath Margasahayam, OM

  • AOCMF North America Board
    AOCMF North America Region

    Gorman Louie, CA

    Past Chair:
    Alan Herford, US

    Board Member:
    Stephen MacLeod, US
    Salvatore C. Lettieri, US
    Travis T. Tollefson, US
    Larry L. Cunningham, US
    Gregory Farwell, US

    Chair Elect:
    Andrew Murr, US



  • AOCMF R&D Commission
    AOCMF International
    Eppo Wolvius, NL

    Commission Members:
    Daniel Buchbinder, US
    Edward Ellis, US
    Andreas Thor, SW
    Thomas Dodson, US
    Warren Schubert, US

    Business Manager:
    Mirjam Bucher, CH

    Permanent Guest:
    Víctor Díaz Molina, CH
    Martin Stoddart, CH 

    Risto Kontio, FI
  • AOCMF Community Development Commission
    AOCMF International

    Community Development Chair:
    Sabine Girod

    Community Development Vice Chair:

    Florian Thieringer

    Community Development Representatives:
    Andrew Carton, ESA
    Amir Elbarbary, MENA
    Chumpot Itthichaisri, AP
    Salvatore Lettieri, NA
    Jonathas Claus, LAT

    Editorial Review Board Members:

    Jan-MichaƩl Hirsch, ESA
    Ariel Hirschhorn, ESA
    Amr Ghanem, MENA
    Eric Kahugu, MENA
    Yong-Dae Kwon, AP
    Divya Upadhyaya, AP
    Promod Subash, AP
    Sarah Frommer, NA

Background AOCMF

View the people responsible for managing the day to day operations of AOCMF